Arlington Town Select Board

“The board of selectmen is commonly the executive arm of the government of New England Towns in the United States.”

Roles & Responsibilities

The select board is at the center of Vermont’s local government. It is the body that has general supervision and control over the affairs of the town. 24 V.S.A. § 872. The select board performs three functions: legislative (enacts local ordinances, regulations and policies); administrative (prepares and presents the budget, oversees all town expenditures, supervises personnel and controls town buildings and property); and quasi-judicial (determines private rights in such areas as laying out, discontinuing and reclassifying highways and hearing appeals as the local board of health and as the local liquor control commission).

For more information about the role and responsibilities of the select board, please consult VLCT’s Handbook for Vermont Select boards.

  • Chairman

    Keith Squires
    1387 Maple Hill Rd
    Arlington, VT 05250-8682
    (802) 375-6680

    Select Board Admin Assistant

    Janet Barry
    3828 VT Rte. 7A, 2nd Floor
    (802) 375-6474
    Office Hours: M-F 9:00 AM – 2:00 PM EST

  • Board Members

    Cynthia Browning
    PO Box 389
    Arlington, VT 05250-0389
    (802) 375-9019

    Daniel Harvey
    1555 East Arlington Rd
    Arlington, VT 05250-8622
    (802) 375-6967

    Matthew Bykowski
    366 Red Mountain Rd
    Arlington, VT 05250
    (802) 375-2645

    Timothy Williams
    PO Box 23
    Arlington, VT 05250
    (802) 375-6119